Tags

, , , , , ,

… before I got back into sewing regularly I bought a light weight knit cardigan on etsy from BLUSHFASHION. I love it, it is super flattering, really comfortable and it is perfect when I am travelling in Africa, going from the hot outside to freezing air conditioned meeting rooms as it folds up small enough to slip in my bag without wrinkling and is smart enough for meeting ministers!

… I plan on making another one in another colour soon, in the mean time I decided to test out the pattern on a piece of cosy red fleece I was given at last summer’s sewing blogger’s meet.

… I took my original cardigan and traced around it on pattern paper. It is somewhat bat-winged, with a shawl collar, so an easy shape to copy, but fabric hungry… I spread my fabric out this way and that and tried to work out the most efficient way of cutting all the pieces out, in the end I winged it and crossed my fingers…

… I was ok until I needed to cut out the second collar piece… I ended up having to sew together 2 pieces, I just have to sell it as a design feature! It came together super quickly on the serger, it is super cosy, and I think it looks great, I wore it out in the wild to the second sewing bloggers meet up (photos were taken afterwards, hence the wrinkles!)… I am really pleased with it!

batwing cardigan @ grt*escp batwing cardigan @ grt*escp batwing cardigan @ grt*escp

 

