Tags

, , ,

… soon after I started my new job (way back in October), I noticed my dark work friendly jeans were no longer work friendly as they had worn out and I was showing flesh!

… a quick lunch time shopping spree the same day, and I came home with a new pair of jeans, that just needed a few centimetres cutting off the bottom, and then they were good to go…

… the sewing machine has been brought out on numerous occasions in the past 6 months…

… the plan was always “I’ll sew this, then I’ll shorten my jeans”…

… various projects have been sewn, some shown here, others not (yet), but the jeans kept getting put back on the work in progress shelf…

… is it just me, or do other people hate shortening trousers (to the point of not answering friends calls for 2 weeks because you know she is going to ask you to “just” shorten a couple of pairs of trousers she bought).

… Sunday a week or so ago and a couple of friends came round for a craft brunch, one brought her crocheting, the other various sewing projects she wanted guidance and help on. As Sylvester was being patched up I finished the hem on a cardigan I had made on the overlocker a few weeks ago, and when my friends I left, I decided before I put the sewing machine away I should finally shorten my jeans…

… as I was measuring how much I needed to cut off, I remembered seeing a tutorial online on shortening jeans without cutting off the bottom.

… google delivered, and I found various explanations of the same technique: basically you measure how much you need to cut off without the original hem, fold that distance up, and sew close to the original hem line. When you fold the hem down and press your seam becomes invisible, and you still have the original hem. As I didn’t need to shorten by much I didn’t cut off the excess, but I did top stitch around just above the hem line in dark blue thread. It is invisible, but should hold the folded fabric up.

… all in all, it took me less than 30 minutes to shorten my jeans, well almost 6 months of procrastination, and 30 minutes of sewing!

… I might even call my friend back.
shortening jeans @ grt*escp shortening jeans @ grt*escp

