Tags

, , , , ,

… I am not usually one to jump on the new pattern bandwagon, I draft a lot of my own patterns, I have a reasonable collection of Japanese patterns I love and as I don’t do skirts or dresses that eliminates a lot of temptation…

… ever since I got back from Ghana last winter I have been planning on making a top with some of the Ghanaian fabric I brought back from my trip, but I didn’t know which one… while I love the wax designs, I am not 100% comfortable wearing bright patterns all over…

… scrolling through my blog reader one day a few months ago and an image jumped out at me: Cherie of “you and mie” was taking part in a blog tour and had made up the imagine gnats bess top. The contrasting solid back and patterned front of her top, the sleeves that wrap around from the back, the small pleats giving the front a little shape were all just what I was looking for: simple at first appearance, but really subtly special. I bought the pattern immediately, printed it within days, taped it all up soon after, and even cut out the fabric. Ghanaian wax for the back and after going through my pile of solids to chose the right contrasting fabric for the front, I decided on some bright blue, upcycled tablecloth from my mother’s trade fair days!

… and the weeks rolled by, and I finished off various other projects, but the pieces of the bess top stayed on my shelf.

… Saturday morning, waiting for the plumber, I finally got round to sewing up the top. The design is ingenious, but not immediately intuitive, I had to check the instructions a few times, but it came together easily and really looks lovely. I just need some warm weather now! Maybe next week in San Francisco!

Ghana wax bess @ grt*escp Ghana wax bess @ grt*escp

 

