Tags

, , , ,

… six pm, I need to leave in 90 minutes, I think I need another gift to take!

… the eve of new year’s eve I remember I want to take gifts for the hosts of my new year’s eve dinner, and I want them to be handmade. I spend the evening making an ipad cover for her. An easy choice, she has admired a laptop cover I made recently, and commented on how much she likes a particular piece of material in my stash. More about that in another post…

… but for him? At our recent christmas sale (which went very well), someone commented none of us had anything for boys or guys and had to leave empty handed… what do you make for guys? Running through the things he likes to do, I kept coming back to outdoor sports, and outdoor activities…

… half a day isn’t going to be enough to knit a scarf, even less so a hat…

… but then I remember the fleece baby beanie I just made, and that the pattern also exists in adult sizes. I check my fabric stash, none of the fleece remnants I have are really very manly…

… early morning, home from a (very muddy) run in the forest, quick shower and straight to the nearest fabric shop. I make a beeline to the back, to the fleeces, averting my eyes from the temptation of everything else, and they don’t have dark grey fleece, the color I had settled on in my mind. Plum, orange, yellow, baby blue, turquoise, a hideous green, navy, black… even a pale, pale grey, but none are the dark grey I have my mind set on…

… I decide to ask a salesperson, just in case… “Oh, I’ll go and get it from the storeroom”… phew! I get my half metre, enough for several hats, or a hat and several other ideas… “when do the sales start?” I venture to ask… “not until the 3rd, but show me what you want and I’ll tell you how much it will be discounted”. I point to some beautiful, and hideously expensive, grey wool, a coat project in the back of my mind. She picks up the bolt, carries it to the measuring table, tells me “it will be discounted 50%, but I can do that for you already today”… I swallow, and ask for 3 metres, and some lining…

… back home, coat project is carefully tucked to one side, hat pattern is printed, material is cut for a medium. I decide a knot on top is probably not manly, nothing on top is a bit boring, I get some contrasting blue fleece and cut a tassel. I sew up the hat in an instant! Perfect.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

… later, dog walked, apple crumble made, and an hour and a half to spare, I decide I could also take a gift for another friend who will be spending the evening with us. The mother of the future baby suit wearer. I could make her a hat to match her son’s! I dig out the left over blue fleece, there isn’t enough, but I have a fair amount of plum fleece left over from my tunic. Another hat cut, a black tassel this time, and time to wrap everything before I rush out to dinner…

SONY DSC

… I think E wore his hat for half the evening, I guess that constitutes a success!

SONY DSC

