Tags

, , ,

… it has been quiet around here of late… not because I haven’t been doing anything, but because everything I have made of late has been a complete fail!

… well, there are a few things I made recently that I forgot to photograph before I gave them away, like the garter gaiter knitted following the pattern from the PurlBee. I had barely finished it and a friend saw it, asked for it, I gave it to her and she loves it. I did get a quick shot on instagram mid-knit…

… there was the bag I made from left over material from the Japanese tunic I made last autumn, that I sold at the Christmas market…

… and a few more hats, everyone I know is getting fleece hats, I love how quick and easy the pattern is, and with 1/2 m of fleece you can get 4 or 5 hats! I wore mine running this morning, it was so cosy…

… but there have been a fair share of flops too – like the chunky cowl I knitted up just after Christmas, while I was in bed with flu. A couple of evenings tucked up with my hot water bottle, a DVD and my knitting… and 5, yes FIVE, stitches from finishing casting off I ran out of yarn, so I frogged that… it was probably too long anyway.

SONY DSC

… and this week I decided I wanted to do some sewing… and I decided to use up a bunch of material I bought last summer to make a duvet cover. I saw this image last summer, and fell in love with the duvet cover, decided I wanted to make one myself, but I couldn’t find striped material. I settled for some ok-ish fabric instead, despite knowing myself, and knowing, if I have my heart set on something, something else that is just OK is never going to make me happy… then this week I saw a picture of a triangle quilt, and decided maybe I could use my material to make a triangle quilt instead…

73816881361935649_mbT9ONAQ_c

… I cut the triangles, spent hours faffing about how to arrange them, sewed up 5 rows of triangles, sewed the rows together and ended up with something blah… it is folded up and will be stored at the back of my cupboard until I feel compelled to get it back out and complete it…

SONY DSC

… and all of this is procrastinating because I have bought the most gorgeous material to make the Minoru jacket, but this might be the most expensive material I ever bought, even with the 50% discount in the sales, and I am terrified of cutting it, terrified of making a mess of the jacket, of getting the size wrong – most clothes I make end up too big (most clothes I buy are too big too, there is a pattern there!)…