Tags

, , ,

… demotivated with the way my coat was going, with the fact the stupid expensive embroidered material was coming unravelled in front of my eyes, and meeting a friend for lunch just along the road from the fabric shop, at the last minute I rolled my unfinished project up and stuck it in my bag.

… after a lovely lunch I gathered my resolve and decided to take the coat to the shop to show them what had happened. I don’t really know what I expected: commiseration; a discount on my next purchase; a remnant of the material that would have allowed me to cut a new back… certainly not what actually happened!

… all the staff, from the most junior shelf stacker to the manager, gathered around my coat, amid rolls and rolls of fabric, winter left overs being put away, summer collections being brought out, everyone admiring my work, commiserating about the tangled noodles hanging off the back, determining there was none of the original material left, and then the manager telling me I could chose other material of the same value…

… walking between tables and wall displays, running my hands over rolls and rolls of material, overwhelmed, unable to think about summer projects with the freezing temperatures outside, finding the end of the sale on winter fabrics, and choosing 1, 2, 3, 4 different rolls. A couple of metres of one, a metre and a half of another, and another and the end of another roll there, all at a fraction of the original price, at much less than I paid per metre for my coat material… I found myself with a mountain of fabric, project ideas spinning through my head…

blog… a photo survey posted on instagram: cowl necked top or a cross over cardigan with the bobbly wool? Friends voted, I cut out the pattern and pulled together a lovely cosy cowl top. It is difficult to photograph, it is somewhere between purple and brown and grey…

… one project down, I have already cut out the material for the next, a cosy comfortable pair of trousers…

SONY DSC SONY DSC

