Tags

, , , , ,

… a few weeks ago, a weekend in the Ardennes in the south of Belgium, and a visit to Redu, the “village of books“, half the buildings in the village have been converted to book shops (the other half are bars or restaurants to feed and hydrate the book buyers!), I stumbled on a book of recipes for cookies, and my mouth was watering. It was discounted 50% below the list price, why not!

SONY DSC… I wanted to try at least half the recipes straight away, but life kept getting in the way. Finally today, an invitation to dinner tonight, so I decided to try one to take something along. I have had chickpea flour in my cupboard for ages, left over from a (somewhat ok) pinterest experiment, zucchini and chickpea pancakes, so the chickpea and parsley cookies seemed like a logical choice. Despite checking my cupboard, I was actually missing a few ingredients, so I had to improvise a bit, but they were easy to make and came out pretty good. I think they will be delicious dipped in hummus – chickpea overload!

Chickpea and parsley cookies

for about 20 cookies you will need:

100g chickpea flour

50g regular flour

1 tbsp rolled oats

2 tsps baking powder (I didn’t have this, so I just skipped it!)

2 tsps paprika (I didn’t have this either, so I used Ras-el-hanout!)

2 tsps chopped parsley (I would use more next time)

120g butter

1 tbsp tahini (I didn’t have this, so I just roasted some sesame seeds instead!)

1 beaten egg

salt and pepper

 
  • mix the flours, oats, baking powder, paprika and parsley
  • mix the tahini and butter until you have a cream-like consistency
  • add the flour-mix to the butter-mix and work together using your fingers, then add the egg
  • cover a baking sheet with greaseproof paper
  • make walnut sized balls out of the mixture and flatten
  • bake in the oven at 180ºC for 15 minutes, until the edges start to golden.
  • cool and enjoy.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

