Tags

, , , , ,

… after cutting out my Burda patterns last night I realised I needed to wash the fabric before I could carry on, so I threw all my fabric in the washing machine and then hung it up to dry overnight…

… this morning, out running, thinking about my to-do-list – a few letters needed writing before I should start sewing – and thinking about the upcoming week – I am teaching yoga 4 days this week…

… while I practice yoga in shorts, I prefer to teach in trousers, but I only have 1 pair of trousers that are really suited to the hot room, all the others are too warm (it is 40ºC in the studio), and then I got to thinking how easy it would be to make another pair…

… I still have the leggings pattern I drafted in the 90s, I could pop down to my local fabric shop and pick up some lycra material: I remember seeing it in all sorts of cheerful colours last time I was there…

… post run, shower, breakfast, I brave the rain, jump on a bike and head down town. Fabric bought and the sun came out as I cycled home.

… I seemed to remember the legging pattern was long in the body, I got my running tights out to use as a reference, and cut out a pair of capri tights. I cut them short in the body and added a band of contrasting lycra for the waist rather than adding elastic – I hope they won’t fall down!

… first band installation wasn’t quite right, but as the leggings were still too high in the waist I just chopped it off and started again, it still isn’t perfect. And I almost lost my calm when I ran out of cotton 5cm from finishing the last top stitching… luckily the supermarket across the road from my place sells cotton, so a quick shopping break and I was able to finish the leggings.

… now I need to get back on track with my original plans, and then I might see if I can get some shorts out of the left over lycra too!

SONY DSC SONY DSC

