Tags

, , , , ,

… when Karen announced her pyjama party I signed up straight away…

… I made some fabulous flannel pjs in the winter that I loved and decided, even though I was super busy all of June,Ā  I could easily pull together a summer pair and join the party…

… wrong!

… June passed by in a whirlwind of madness, dealing with the paperwork and signing for the new apartment, getting the keys (because it was sold in an auction this happened in 2 weeks instead of the usual 3-4 months!), away for a week teaching yoga, then back to arranging experts to come and give me quotes to redo all the electrics, replace the windows and the water heater in the new place, I also managed to land a big consultancy contract for over the summer, and get a full time job starting in October…

… my sewing machine was put away…

… Thursday night before the Sunday party I got my machine out, got out a pyjama pattern I found in my collection, from the notes on the envelope it must have belonged to my grandmother originally! I looked in my cupboard and realised I didn’t have any suitable fabric, I made a t-shirt instead. Friday morning I went out, to a lovely craft shop, and treated myself to a length of beautiful Japanese cotton, thinking I could whip up the pyjamas before I headed off for the weekend early evening…

pyjama party @ grt*escp pyjama party @ grt*escp… wrong…

… home early Sunday evening, I decide I could still make the party – just, then I realised I need to wash the fabric, so I quickly hand washed it… and went to bed. Monday morning I think maybe I can slip in late, without anyone noticing… I iron the fabric, lay it down, get outthe pattern piece and realise the beautiful fabric is only 1.10m, not 1.45m wide… I don’t have enough!

… I look at pattern books, trying to decide what I can make instead, realise I am not in the right frame of mind to embark on more ambitious projects, I fold up the fabric, I will come back to it later…

… the pyjama bug has bitten me, out running errands mid-week I decide to go to another fabric shop and pick up a length of cotton, they have nothing I like! I venture into another craft shop, treat myself to another extravagant metre of fabric – this time it is wide enough!

… home, fabric is washed, dried, ironed, cut out, but as I am cutting I realise in natural light the fabric is not dark orange, it is red and I HATE red, completely irrational, but I really hate red! I stop, wonder what to do, and then decide I am not starting over… I finish cutting, and sew the pyjamas up in an hour!

… too late for the party, not my favourite color, but they will be worn!

pyjama party @ grt*escp

