Tags

, , , , ,

… a fabulous Belgian/Dutch sewing blogger meet up yesterday, a chance to meet some lovely fellow sewers, put faces to blog names and discover new blogs too…

… over lunch, after visiting a couple of fabric shops, where I picked up a soft, drapey piece of turquoise viscose for another 3/4 sleeve Renfrew – my first one seems to be in the wash every week, I must be wearing it plenty – came the much anticipated fabric swap. I came poorly supplied, I don’t have a stash as such, just a few pieces of fabric earmarked for specific projects, I don’t have many patterns either, I mainly use the same few over and over, or adapt and self draft patterns based on items of clothing I like. Others had plenty to offer, the table piled high, much to the bewilderment of the waitresses and the amusement of other patrons of the wonderful Houtsiplou terrace…

… While everyone went through the offerings I kept my eyes on a couple of pieces – a green on green striped jersey and a brown and yellow patterned jersey, no one else seemed as interested in them as I was, so I brought them home. I also picked up a turquoise and green jersey baby blanket that I am sure will be perfect for a t-shirt. Kamila took a magazine of Japanese patterns I had brought and insisted I chose a couple of pieces from her pile. I went for some green (see a trend here?!) waterproof fabric and, at her insistence,some burgundy red fleecy wool fabric.

blogger meetup/fabric swap @ grt*escp blogger meetup/fabric swap @ grt*escp… it was also a chance to meet the lovely Lelie of a bouquet of buttons and she brought me a bunch of fabric I had won in a giveaway she ran a few weeks ago…

blogger meetup/fabric swap @ grt*escp… after lunch we went to a couple more shops, we tried to visit Le Mercerie de Bruxelles, a tiny, absurdly well stocked and reasonably priced haberdashery, but they, like so many Belgian businesses, were on annual holiday. We went to the huge warehouses of the Chien Vert, it seems appropriate that I bought some emerald green webbing here for a new dog lead…

blogger meetup/fabric swap @ grt*escp… home, dog walked, and I started looking at my pile of new acquisitions, planning what I could make with some of them…

… I already have a grainline scout planned with my failed pyjama fabric, I decided the yellow and brown fabric would probably work well for this empire waist top from crafthabits.com and I will make Maria Denmark’s kirsten kimono tee from the baby blanket… so printer was loaded up with paper, and patterns were printed…

… I also printed up the pattern for Madalynne’s Amerson undies while I was at it, I have been meaning to give making them a go for ages, and it isn’t like I don’t have enough scraps!

… I now have a pile of paper that needs laying out, taping then cutting, so I can start sewing…

… but first a few more days of wallpaper peeling…

