Tags

, ,

… it was an extravagance, but it was perfect for my pyjamas…

… it was just a shame there wasn’t enough

… ever since my pyjama fail I have been thinking how I can use that tiny piece of gorgeous, expensive fabric – a mere 1m x 1.1m. Following the Belgian sewers meet up, I was going through patterns and ideas, planning how to use some of the fabric I brought home that day, looking at some of the patterns I have downloaded and saved…

… the grainline scout woven tee jumped out at me – surely it couldn’t take much fabric, I didn’t even try converting the fabric requirements from meaningless imperial to metric measurements, I just taped and patched together the printed pattern pieces, worked out my size, cut the pieces out and spread my fabric out on the floor…

… I folded this way and that way, lay the pieces one way and the other, and worked out if I included a smidgen of selvedge in one side seam and lost a 1cm square from under an arm I could cut front and back out, and get the sleeves too. The fabric was cut, and sat on top of my fauxdenza for a week or more, taunting me to sew, teasing me to just get the sewing machine back out…

… my machine had been packed up, taken for a service, and once collected kept in its case as I knew I didn’t have time for sewing at the minute… but the scout pieces taunted me.

… one evening, when I should have been reviewing technical progress reports for a contract I am working on, I decided instead to take some time out, and just sew the damn scout! It came together easily, except the binding on the neck which seemed too short, maybe I should have stretched the binding and eased the neck in, I just cut a new, longer length of bias binding. The bias binding had also been bought for the pyjamas…

… it is really pretty, maybe a bit too pyjama-y, I am not generally a huge pattern fan (except for pyjamas!), I generally prefer solids, but it will be light and cool, perfect for the warm weather forecast for later this week, but I think the cotton might drive me crazy, it is already wrinkled from trying it on after I made it…

… give me a knit any day!

scout woven tee @ grt*escp scout woven tee @ grt*escp

