Tags

, , , , ,

… soon after I moved to my new place I spotted signs for a “brocante”, a flea market, in my new neighbourhood one Sunday morning…

… I thought about booking a stall as I was trying to take advantage of the move to de-clutter, but decided I wasn’t going to be ready for that, and knew with the amount of work that needed doing in the apartment, sitting on the edge of the street all day watching people drift by eyeing my cast off possessions disdainfully was going to be more frustration than fun…

… the Sunday came and I was up early and off out dog walking. I remembered the flea market, so slipped some cash in my pocket along side my plastic bags…

… people were arriving, unloading cars, defining territory, not even thinking about selling as we walked by. I quickly spotted an orange pendant light fitting I liked. It didn’t belong to the girl guarding the pile of belongings, her friend was just looking for somewhere to park the car…

… as we waited I spotted a side lamp base I liked too… it was also his. We waited some more. Eventually car must have been parked and orange light owner arrived, told me his price, I offered him 40€ for the two pieces, he accepted, then I asked if I could come and pick them up on my way back from the forest…

… an hour or so later, walking back through the market, heading towards my lights, I noticed a wooden chair, cushion-less, in need of a little TLC, but with beautiful lines… 20€ later and it was mine. I asked the guy to look after it while I went and got my lights, left the dog at home and came back with 2 hands to pick it up!

… the lights had been packed into a box, they were taken home, then I rushed back out and went to pick up my chair, hoping he hadn’t sold it a second time to anyone else!

… a not bad haul for before breakfast!

early morning thrifting @ grt^*escp

