Tags

, , , , , , ,

… tidying up my sewing corner, putting away left over fabric after making my chair cushion covers and T’s bed, and I decided I should really have a look through my scrap box. It barely closes, every little left over bit of fabric is stuffed into it after every project, just in case…

… I recently decided I really should update my underwear collection, I had printed out the Amerson Undies pattern months ago, but when I taped it all together and cut the pattern pieces out I realised it was designed for woven fabric and had seams front and back. I am not a huge fan of seams in my underwear…

… I scurried over to Pinterest, sure I had bookmarked other patterns, and found the Makebra hipster pattern, definitely more my style. I printed out the pages, taped and cut the pattern pieces and then went through my jersey scraps, cutting out three pairs…

… then I went away for a few days, and when I got home I got it into my head I needed a serger to sew them up…

… New Year’s day, shops were closed, Thursday was spent running around doing a million other things, Friday lunch with a friend, then I was heading to the sewing machine shop… a friend called wanting to meet up, I told her “later”…

… I knew what I wanted, I have been researching and dreaming of a serger for well over a year, last January the guy at the Bernina shop demonstrated the virtues of each of their models to me, and I left wondering if there was any way I could afford one… there wasn’t…

… now there was… I could afford a serger, so what was I waiting for? The brown box loaded into the car, I went and met my friend, we went for a walk in the forest, got caught in a spectacular thunderstorm – lightning bouncing off the hail stones that hammered down on us – I dropped her at home and declined the offer of a cup of tea, telling her I needed to get home to do “things”…

knickerbocker story @ grt*escp… home and I sat and looked at the box for a while, suddenly feeling overwhelmed, thinking about all the challenges people seem to encounter with a new serger… was I going to be able to thread it, did I even know how to use it… Finally I got my wits about me, took it out, set it up with only a couple of wobbles along the way. I tested it on a scrap of jersey, decided it was pretty fabulous, grabbed my pile of underwear pieces and sewed them up in an instant…

knickerbocker story @ grt*escp… while I was in the UK I had bought a bunch of fold over elastic, these exotic things I have yet to find locally…

knickerbocker story @ grt*escp… a few days away in Guinea, and all I could think of was getting home to finish my underwear! Yesterday I got out my sewing machine, tested zig-zagging the elastic on some scraps, hoped it would look better on the real thing… and it doesn’t. I have given up! Despite my best efforts, the elastic stretches making the underwear look droopy, not flattering at all… I have put them in the “come back to later” pile… I am so disappointed…

knickerbocker story @ grt*escp

