Tags

, , , , , , ,

… it has been more than a month since I got my sewing machine out…

… unless you count the 3h introduction to your overlocker course I did at the Bernina shop a few weeks ago – 3h course that was over in 1h30, and where every time I asked a question I was told “you need to do the next course to learn that”…

… progress has been made on the kitchen renovation front, but that meant since I got back from holiday the apartment has either been a building site, or I have been cleaning… then I had a surprise trip to Ethiopia…

… back from Ethiopia, the land of incredible basket and cotton weaving skills, still feeling delicate after a cold and a stomach bug (it was quite the three days!), and yesterday I decided a quiet afternoon at home was what I needed…

… sewing machine and overlocker out, my pile of UFOs pulled out, as was the fabric for a couple of quick projects that have been whirling around in the back of my mind for at least a year…

… I made a waterproof bag for my yoga clothes post hot yoga work out – after 90 minutes of exercise in a room at 40°C you need a waterproof bag – with some green nylon I got at last years blogger meet up. I still have enough fabric for about another 6 bags, or for some other project!!

a night of UFOs @ grt*escp… I sewed FOE onto the third pair of makebra hipster undies I had made way back in January…

a night of UFOs @ grt*escp… I sewed the hem and cuffs of the Plantain t-shirt I made while I was in California…

a night of UFOs @ grt*escp… I re-sewed the neck into another top I made just before I went to California from a Japanese sewing pattern. I hadn’t been 100% satisfied with how the gathers fell first time round. This is a beautiful drapey soft wool knit I picked up in the sales the day I bought the fabric for the pirate top I made way back in January…

a night of UFOs @ grt*escp a night of UFOs @ grt*escp a night of UFOs @ grt*escp… and finally I threw together a shopping tote from some waxed cotton (I think that is what it is, it came from the basement of Berger, where composition is often a mystery!) I bought probably a couple of years ago… it should have been so straight forward, but I tried to be too fancy, so the French seams ended up feeling bulky, and I didn’t have quite enough fabric for a second facing. I may or may not use it!!

a night of UFOs @ grt*escp a night of UFOs @ grt*escp… now I can move onto some new projects, and I have a long list of plans… another Plantain, another 3 Renfrews (what can I say, I love the pattern!), a Scout, a t-shirt from the Great British Sewing Bee book (can anyone recommend a link to watch the final episodes online), some pyjamas….